



The Parish Church of St. Jude with St. Aidan, Thornton Heath CR7 6BA

MINUTES OF ANNUAL CHURCH MEETING HELD ON 24/04/2022 AT ST JUDE'S

1.0 Convening of the Meeting

The meeting was called to order at 5.15pm.

38 people attended the meeting which was chaired by Rev James Niue.

Ekkanisa y'Oluganda Executive Committee (EC) shall be composed of 12 members to be elected in the ACM, 9 special interest group representatives elected by their respective groups and 2 Co-Opted members (as resolved in EC meeting of 10/05/2021).

2.0 Appointment of a Minutes Secretary

George William Kalanzi was unanimously appointed Minutes Secretary for the meeting.

3.0 Election of Church Wardens

At the time of this meeting, we had 2 Church Wardens; Ms. Sarah Mukangura and Mr. Richard Walusimbi. Mr. Richard Walusimbi stood down.

The following people were nominated and anonymously elected to the position of Church Wardens for 2022/23:

- 1. Ms. Sarah Mukangura
- 2. Ms Jeniffer Nakaggwa

4.0 Approval of Minutes of the Previous ACM

Minutes of the previous ACM held on 23/05/2021 were approved as true record.

5.0 Appointment of Tellers

Mr. Edgar Kavuma and Mr. Polly Lwabidongo were unanimously appointed as the Tellers of the meeting.

6.0 Election of Lay Chairperson and Assistant Lay Chairperson

The term of office is 3 years, after which they can retire but can be elected each year for 3 consecutive years. Thereafter can stand again after 1 year's break).

Lay Chairperson

The existing Lay Chair has served for 6 years therefore is at the end of her term. The existing assistant lay chair has served for 1 year therefore could continue serving for a further 2 years.

The following people were nominated to the position of Lay Chairperson for 2022/23:

Ms. Gladvs Kavuma – Accepted

Mr. William Sekubunga - Withdrew

Mrs. Henrietta Waibale - Accepted

Ms. Gladys Kavuma received the highest number of votes was and was therefore elected to the position of Lay Chair for 2022/23.

Assistant Lay Chairperson

The following people were nominated to the position of Assistant Lay Chairperson for 2022/23:

Mr. William Sekubunga – Accepted

Mr. David Semwogerere - Accepted

Mr. David Semwogerere received the highest number of votes was and was therefore elected to the position of Assistant Lay Chair for 2022/23.

7.0 Elections of EC Members

The term of office is 3 years after which 1/3 retires but can be elected each year for 3 consecutive years. Thereafter can stand again after 1 year's break.

The following people were nominated and accepted to become EC members:

- 1. Mrs. Rachel Musomba
- 2. Mrs. Julie Semambo
- 3. Mrs. Carol Kabaale

- 4. Mr. Mark Mpungu
- 5. Mrs. Janet Mukiibi
- 6. Mr. Geoffrey Kibuuka

- 7. Ms. Barbara Bbosa
- 8. Mrs. Henrietta Waibale

The following people were co-opted and accepted to become EC members:

There were no people nominated but declined to become EC members.

Ms. Robinah Babirye
 Ms. Christine Matovu

The following names of Special Interest Group Representatives were submitted. **

Children's Ministry
Youth Fellowship Representative
Chairperson - Women's Fellowship Team
Chairman - Men's Fellowship Team
Chior Leader
Mathew Worship Team Leader
John Worship Team Leader

Stephen Kafeero
Edmond Sekyondwa
Irene Lubega
Henry Mutumba
Stella Katumba
Milly Kataza
Henry Mutumba

John Worship Team Leader

Mark Worship Team Leader

Luke Worship Team Leader

William Sekubunga

In their first meeting, the EC appointed Julie Semambo assisted by Carol Kabaale as the treasurer, Joyce Lutwama as the EC secretary assisted by Rachel Musomba.

Therefore, the full list of Ekkanisa y'oLuganda Executive Committee is as follows:

Position		Appointment Process	Name
1.	Chairman/Vicar	Not elected	Rev James Njue
2.	Trainee Deacon	Not elected	Vincent Mukiibi
3.	Head of Laity	Direct Election	Gladys Kavuma
4.	Assistant Head of Laity	Direct Election	David Semwogerere
5.	Church Warden 1	Direct Election	Sarah Mukangura
6.	Church Warden 2	Direct Election	Jennifer Nakaggwa
7.	Secretary	Appointed by the Executive Committee	Joyce Lutwama
8.	Assistant Secretary	Direct Election	Rachel Musomba
9.	Treasurer	Direct Election	Julie Semambo
10.	Assistant Treasurer	Direct Election	Carol Kabaale
11.	Children's Ministry	Appointed by the group represented	Stephen Kafeero
12.	Youth Fellowship Representative	Appointed by the group represented	Edmond Sekyondwa
13.	Chair - Women's Fellowship Team	Appointed by the group represented	Irene Lubega
14.	Chair- Men's Fellowship Team	Appointed by the group represented	Henry Mutumba
15.	Choir Leader	Appointed by the group represented	Stella Katumba
16.	Mathew Team Leader	Appointed by the group represented	Milly Kataza
17.	John Team Leader	Appointed by the group represented	Henry Mutumba
18.	Mark Team Leader	Appointed by the group represented	Evelyn Bossa
19.	Luke Team Leader	Appointed by the group represented	William Sekubunga
20.	Member	Direct Election	Mark Mpungu
21.	Member	Direct Election	Janet Mukiibi
22.	Member	Direct Election	Geoffrey Kibuuka
23.	Member	Direct Election	Barbara Bbosa
24.	Member	Direct Election	Henrietta Waibale
25.	Co-Opted Member 1	Direct Election	Robinah Babirye
26.	Co-Opted Member 2	Elected	Christine Matovu

^{**} Post Meeting submission

8.0 Vicar's Report

To be emailed

9.0 Presentation of Written/Verbal Reports

Wardens', EC Secretary's, and Lay Chairs Reports were attached to the main ACM report.

10.0 Treasurer's Report & Presentation of Accounts

Reports was attached to the main ACM report.

11.0 Any Other Business

None

12.0 Q & A Opportunity

Due to time constraints, the congregation was asked to ask any questions in the hall (refreshments time).

13.0 Closure

Rev Njue thanked all those who served during the year and welcome new leaders. The meeting was closed by a prayer and blessing led by Rev Njue at 6.30pm

Signed	Date
•	